• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Directional Guitar Cables

8len8

Silver Supporting Member
I keep hearing that guitar cables are directional (they sound better in one direction versus the other) due to their manufacturing process. Can someone explain the details (the physics) of how that can be (be as technical as possible - I'm an engineer).

Since the signal on the cable is AC, not DC, I don't buy it when folks say that the electrons flow more freely in one direction. That means nothing in an AC system. The only thing I can think of is that the distributed capacitance of the cable isn't uniform...

chervokas

There's no physics to explain claims of directionality in terms of carrying the actual signal. And you're right, the very AC nature of the signal argues against claims of directionality.

There are some twinax, or double shielded coax guitar cables with the shield connected at only one end and that end should be closest to the lowest resistance path to ground which is usually means the amp, so some of those cables will be marked with directional markings--with the shield connected side marked "amp" and the unconnected side marked "instrument". But that's the only legit claim to directionality I know of, and of course it has nothing to do with tone.

I'm usually one to believe that when people hear a difference that science doesn't explain most likely the science just hasn't caught up to experience yet, not that the phenonomon is psychological bull. But in this case I think it's purely psychological if people are hearing a difference.

Last edited:

Leftyman

Platinum Supporting Member