Dist, od or clean boost

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by tayste_2000, Jan 9, 2006.

1. tayste_2000

tayste_2000 Member

Hi, everyone just found this site recently and could do with some advice.

I'm currently using a black barber ltd and a SIB Nick Nitro for my gain needs and while this is great I need something in between. I'm using the LTD on all the time as I'm a bassist this gives me that more classic rock bass sound with out me carrying round 100lb's of tube amp, and I run the Nick Nitro after it this really tames the Nick which is good as I get all that fuzz tone with out the massive amount of drive and gain. I use to use a Dod fx10 before the barber so that I could get more drive out of the barber mid song (Barber is currently with the drive at about 9 o clock) and the boost just kicked it up a set and filled out the sound abit more. But the dod's bypass was robbing my tone abit and I managed to make a profit when selling it, so off it went.

So I still want a medium to low overdrive and I suppose the easiest solution is to just get another barber and have a different gain setting on it, but I wanted something a little different that's more multifunctional.

I've been looking at
    Crowther Hotcakes (Modded for better bass response XLF version)
    Subdecay Liquid Sunshine
    various Orange Squeeze clones such as the Tone Factor and the Pedalworx
    Barber Small Fry - when it comes out

I don't want anything that really treads on the barbers toes tonally, and all of the pedals have to retain bass well, I tried the Zoom Power Drive and really didn't like what it did to my tone, so that might be a bit of a reference point for you.

So any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks

2. brian marshall

brian marshall Member