DIY effects noob - need guidance

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by DrOctagon, Feb 16, 2012.

1. DrOctagon

DrOctagon Member

Hey guys I'm looking to start building my own pedals, not for profit, just for fun. I'm familiar with BYOC but I'm wondering if this would be the best way to go if I intent to be building from scratch relatively soon. I want to make a pedal I'm really going to love so I wa.t to choose a good circuit that I can tweak if I don't like what comes out the first time. I figure to start with some kind of distortion or OD, preferably a fuzz, and I'm thinking this would be the easiest place to start. Even an A/B/Y box as I'd like to blend channels on my Vox but I'm a complete noob and have no idea where to start. If anyone has any good links or tips on how to get started I'd be very thankful

2. Magicpad

Magicpad Member

I've built 3 pedals from BYOC so far and it's awesome.... the instructions are great, and the finished pedals sound amazing. It's like an adult Lego set...... very addicting!!

3. Magicpad

Magicpad Member

Oh, and if you want a simple project to start, I highly recommend the 2 knob byoc Tonebender clone..... the best sounding fuzz I've ever used

4. RBfan

RBfan Member

Yup, totally agree - my 1st attempt at building. Came out great & sounds sooo good. Don't know about tweakability, but I don't think you need to with this circuit, it sounds great.

BYOC does have an A/B/Y kit, but IIRC it may be more than you need; I think General Guitar Gadgets has a more simple version. My next kit will be the BYOC true bypass looper, can always use a looper & looks pretty easy.

T

5. Ed Reed

Ed Reed Senior Member

I've done a couple of GGG pedals, the screamer with boutique mods and the bluesbreaker and they both are nice. Fairly easy to build.

Go for it, great fun.

6. Gaetano Capuano

Gaetano Capuano Member