Do I need an MFC101?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by Gasp100, Jan 25, 2015.

1. Gasp100

Gasp100 Silver Supporting Member

Using the Rocktron midimate right now and only going through 4 patches for electric gigs and 2 patches for acoustic. BUT, I'm finding that I need to have more access to more IA's or to really dig into scenes to be quicker on my feet. I also need a more seem less way to bank up/down and to engage looping.
    Finally, I really need tuning on the floor (even if it's not perfect).
    I don't mind naming patches and tweaking the Midimate but I think the above would be helpful.
    That being said, the MFC ain't cheap.
    I really like the idea of a single CAT5 cable for use. IS the version 1 good enough? I guess using a stronger cable type might make more sense though (stronger?).
    I have the II version II.
    Discuss.

2. TFC

TFC Member

I've been using the MFC-101 version one for a couple of years now. No issues at all. I've used the CAT-5 cable 95% of the time, but have also used a 7-pin MIDI cable with phantom power. Both have worked fine and require only one cable from the AxeFx to the foot switch. It's definitely a couple of steps up from the midimate and you'll enjoy the extra features/convenience for sure.

Used v.1 & v.2 MFCs are not as bad as they used to be. I generally see them for about $500, sometimes less, which is $100 less than I paid for mine used a couple of years ago, and I thought I got a decent deal at the time.

If you do decide to get one, feel free to get in touch, as I may be letting mine go.

3. Gasp100

BUMP... thinking about this again. I have a second project coming online and while I love the size/weight of the MidiMate I'm going to be doing some looping (and jumping back and forth between looping / IA) as well as scene usage.
    So, the MFC should come with a power supply as well? And I could house that in my rack so I could use EITHER CAT5 or 7 pin cable?