Do tall Hercules-type stands offer any benefit over regular ones?

lowyaw

As opposed to a regular single guitar stand, are those stands any better? The ones like Hercules, where a guitar basically hangs from the neck in a locking top holder, and body just leans against rubberised "legs"?

GS414_B_727.jpg

Da Geezer

To me, they are more stable.
The old type where the body rests on the "fork" at the bottom are the worst IMO. If you don't set the guitar in them "just right", it can tip out. Not these......tremendous improvement

I recently purchased a triple unit, and am very happy with it

guitararmy

I used to use the regular $10 tripod stands, until someone knocked my guitar forward off of it.
The base of the Hercules stand is much more resistant to tipping because the legs are longer and it weighs more than the cheap ones...

paulitk

I have a Warmoth bodied Jazzmaster with a Nitro Finish, and when I was using a normal stand it didn't feel stable, and the the black rubber was leaching into the finish. I got a Hercules style stand, with no issues.

edro

I love em... Have singles and triple. Extremely stable...

I can't see trusting a several $K guitar to an $8 stand...

Saw an old Goldie neck pop happen up close... I'll pay for a strong stable stand...

Rhetorical Quiz:

How many times have you adjusted, readjusted your guitar in the old spinning horshoe stand only to go back and adjust it agaiin?
How may of you have used gaffer tape or the like to build up the ends of the horshoe to lessen the chance of the guitar sliding off.
How many times on break have you repeatedly looked at your guitar during break to make sure it's ok in the stand and not sliding to one side barely hooked on the strap button.

It only takes once to prove the value of a reliable stand... Doesn't matter if you have the stand or not.... you'll know...

You be either happy you bought one or puking because you didn't....

Your guitar is in an $8 case, isn't it? :)

LittleJerry