Do you think I might need a cap job?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by Laroosco!, Sep 9, 2006.

1. Laroosco!

Laroosco! Member

My Traynor YSR1 sounds great but it starts to break up almost immediately.
    I was told that this is a sign that the caps might be getting tired.

I popped the top top and there are quite a few OLD Mullard caps in there. They look good but I'm no expert.

Thanks

[​IMG]

2. Stormy

Stormy Member

maybe you just need to get your tubes changed and re-biased. From the pic I don't see any electrolytic caps only mustard capacitors and resisters ( but I don't know sheet about amps) so maybe someone who does will chime in.

3. brad347

brad347 Member

You probably DO need a cap job but FOR GOD'S SAKE LEAVE THOSE MUSTARD CAPS ALONE.

Those are not electrolytic caps and therefore never need changing unless they go bad which is rare. They never hurt anything if they go bad. They are a big part of why those amps sound good.

A "cap job" does not mean "replace every cap in the amp." Cap job is replacing the electrolytic caps that filter the DC ripple out in the power supply. In that amp they are probably in a "can" or "doghouse."

take it to a tech and get him to evaluate the condition of those caps. Generally if you have to ask "do I need a cap job" then the answer is "YES."

Good luck!

4. brad347

brad347 Member

PS for the record I see three electrolytric caps in the pic. They are not filter caps though... smaller electrolytics which are most likely cathode bypass caps. Change these at your own discretion. One (the blue one) looks different (older?) than the other two.

5. brad347

brad347 Member

Finally (third post's a charm), doing a cap job, while probably necessary, is not the most efficient way to increase headroom. Look into your power tubes and make sure they are biased correctly. You might also experiment with different preamp tube types (especially if you use humbucker guitars).

6. Laroosco!