Do you think your job really makes a difference?

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Rick Lee, Apr 13, 2016.

1. Rick Lee

Rick Lee Member

I am still close with a lot of folks at a place I used to work. A former co-worker just told me that their top producer for the last quarter was a woman who was on maternity leave for the previous five months and had not made a single call or sent a single email in that time. She hadn't touched her client portfolio in any way for five months, yet her portfolio performed better than anyone else's who was at work every day during that time. Wow. That has to be discouraging. But I'm sure they're all happy to still have those jobs. I guess 98% of life really is just showing up.

My most personally rewarding job was when I was a mortgage loan officer, because I really enjoyed seeing people move into a new house, especially young couples and first time buyers. Not that they couldn't have gotten the loan anywhere else, but it felt good and like everyone benefited.

Jamalot likes this.
  2. Frankee

Frankee Wartime Consigliere

Yup. I keep the lights on.

3. loudboy

loudboy Member

For probably %99.9999999999999 of us, there will be no trace in 100 years.

In the present, there's probably only a handful of people who are truly indispensable at their job.

Steve Jobs proved that, like him or not.

Cruciform and Turi like this.
  4. Stratonator

Stratonator Member

I was an idealist in my younger years and thought that by working hard, I'd make a difference.

Everywhere I'd go, people would be in endless meetings and pretty much be trapped in a sea of red tape. People just doing what they can to get a paycheck.

In my company, they have hour-long meetings to determine a color they'll use for a company website's menu. Luckily, I don't have anything to do with that and tend to more down-to-earth tasks. :)

5. jamess

jamess Silver Supporting Member