Does anyone else know that a Helix/Axe Fx is complete overkill, yet buy it anyways?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by rich2k4, May 8, 2016.

1. rich2k4

rich2k4 Supporting Member

I was trying out a Helix yesterday because I have been looking to move away from amplifiers and build myself a all in one recording/practice rig at home. I have been eyeing the Helix for a few months now and was excited to test it. It sounds great but something came over me while I was using it, and I kept asking myself if I was really going to use this unit to its full potential?

I tend to stick to a few basic sounds, clean, crunch and then an all out VH/Lynch/Vai style tone. Something like the Helix would probably be more than I would ever need, and it makes me hesitant to drop $1500 on it. I do however want the best possible tone and feel, and I need something that allows me to be super quiet yet retain the same tone.

Do you ever get the same feeling? Dropping $1500 on a piece of gear like this, knowing that it is complete overkill for your uses?

2. Gearzilla

Gearzilla Member

Better too much than not enough.

imo. :)

3. aleclee

aleclee TGP Tech Wrangler Staff Member

Yup. What makes it too much?

Is it the expense? Luxury goods are by definition "too much". That could also apply to most any guitar more costly than a used Squire Strat.

Is it the feature set? In that case, using a word processor is "too much" since you could use a plain text editor like Notepad (or a pencil).

4. ColdFrixion

ColdFrixion Member

If you only use a few sounds then yes, it would be overkill for you. However, in my case, I write music in a variety of styles and use a variety of effects, so I'd rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it. Plus, since we're not all the same, having as much as possible means there's something for everybody.

mlavin00 and blackened302 like this.
  5. bloomz

bloomz Member