Does Anyone gig with a Fender Blues Jr. ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by p.snail, Aug 4, 2006.

1. p.snail

p.snail Member

Just curious. I'm on the fence with this one. I need a new amp. I finally sold my HR Deville and now I'm looking for it's replacement. The rooms we play in are small and we mic everything so gobs of power isn't an issue. It does have to perform at reasonable volumes and stay clean. I know 15 watters break up, but how do you like the cleans on your Blues JR. I was also contemplating an Orange Tiny Terror. THD is out of my budget unless anyone has one for sale for $500. My buddy is willing to sell me his silverface Bassman head and 2x15 cab. The cab will obviously end up in my basement, but would this head work well? I have lots of pedals so I do my damage on the floor. Channel switching is not needed. I can get the Blues JR at a great price, but I have no experience with this amp. If you do like the amp did you do any mods to improve the tone? Thanks

2. riverastoasters

riverastoasters Member

Eh. They aren't hideous. We ended up having to use one for this live recording we made and it's the reason we can't really consider releasing any of the tracks. But the audience was happy.

3. Jatmosphere

Jatmosphere Supporting Member

I've used them for gigs & rehearsals w/ great results using my pedal board. but w/ a choice of that and a silver bassman (BF mod recommended).
    get a 1 x12" cab and you'll be able to rock any situation! :dude
    a little more $ spent. but vintage is the great option for sure!! :D
    I have a '66 bassman head that I run into a small 1 x 12" cab w/ a G12H, it's light and rocks hard. also great if there is a back-line of any kind @ the gig, you can plug it into whatever cab or combo (w/ a double female 1/4" adapter. switch-craft highly recommended. I leave mine attached to my speaker cable in the back of the head when not in use). grab a Tuki cover too to take care of your investment!

4. Fifthstone