Does Anyone Gig with the Blackstone OD?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by wopr, Jan 3, 2008.

1. wopr

wopr Member

I love the pedal when playing at home, but I am wondering how plays at gigs. I used it at a gig once, but I don't think I had it set up right.

Thanks,

steve

2. JUSTJOB

JUSTJOB Member

It plays well anywhere! When I travel light the Blackstone is one pedal that I take. With it a fuzz, AD9 and Strat I can cover a lot of ground. So sensitive to guitar volume knob tweaks, so many shades of tone, and cuts through the mix well.

3. Mig60

Mig60 Member

me too, no problem at all

4. sstweed

sstweed Supporting Member

I have been playing out with mine since 2000. It is still on my board because it works very well live.

5. sandman

sandman Member

And how exactly would you describe the Blackstone sound - using familiar TGP vocabulary?

6. slacker

slacker Senior Member

I've had one a couple of years and have given up using it out. IMHO it's great at home and great with a low volume amp. I use 10w or 15w amps and it's not great IMHO at gig/rehearsal volumes. Also it doesnt seem to cut through sit right whatever in a mix.

BTW used with a ZVex Nano set clean IMHO you can get some amazing driven sounds at stupid low volumes. I wont be selling it.

7. sstweed

I am actually quite opposite. I like it much better live. I don't use it as much these days because I don't have much use for low gain drives now that I play a tweed that gives me low od in spades. But I still love the thing live. I love the dynamics and the gritty texture. It isn't as smooth or synthetic as an opamp driven pedal sounds to me. And it cleans up way better giving me more control live. I don't try to get high levels of distortion out of it though. It also stacks really well if you are into that. It likes fuzzes and treble boosters in front of it, at least with my current amp.

8. JUSTJOB

JUSTJOB Member