Does Changing Pickup / Pickup Height Makes A Huige Difference In Tone?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Jimmy25, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Jimmy25

Jimmy25 Member

Does changing pickup make a huge difference in tone? I learned that it won't sound much different at all unless you're using a very decent big amp? I was originally planning on changing the pickup, but since I'm using a small Roland Micro Cube Amp most of the time for practicing (unless sometimes performing on stage or in a practice room where they have good quality big amp, which doesn't happen so often), I don't see the point of spending money to switch my Stractocaster's original pickups, esp when I'm on a limited budget. How about playing around with the pickup height and stuffs, can that make a huge if not huge quite noticable change in tone? I've never done this before, if I'm planning on turning the screws of my pickups the get a better tone I wanted, is there anything I need to watch out for? Or I can just turn it any way I want till I get the tone? And how do I know turning which way gives me what tone? Also, how do I make sure they have equal volume?

2. neville5000

neville5000 Supporting Member

I think it makes a huge difference. PU height is crucial as well. Play around with the heights before you buy more PUs.

3. paulscape

paulscape Member

Yes, I usually lower the neck pickup and raise the bridge a bit.

4. GAD

GAD Wubbalubbadubdub Silver Supporting Member

Probably not going to notice much through a Micro Cube.

What are you trying to accomplish? Pickups that are too low can sound weak. Too high and they can get nasty sounding.

If you're trying to change the fundamental tone of the instrument, I'd advise that you change amps first.

5. halcyon

halcyon Supporting Member

Pickups are one of the most impacting (and interchangeable) components on an electric guitar, imo.