Does this sound like a good plan?

Mark C

I'm just getting into recording and have very little to work with at the moment. I work as a high school teacher, so I have a reasonable income, but I'm not rolling in money. Currently, I have a Digidesign MBox and a Dell Tower that I can dedicate to music. I also have an SM57 and an inexpensive condensor as well as a pair of powered Alesis monitors. My plan is to gradually build up a decent project studio, so here is what I have in mind. I plan on recording Electric and Acoustic guitar, bass, eventually keyboards and vocals. For drums, I'll use loops, a Roland R8 or I'll go rent a studio for a day to get real drums and take the Pro Tools files home to finish tracking. Within the next few years, I'd like to get to the point where I can record and mix quality demos in my house.

Tax return - Get a decent mic pre and compressor. I'm thinking FMR RNC and RMP, from what I've read they sound like the best I can hope for on my miniscule budget. Get the dell tower set up, add more Ram and hook up an external harddrive and start learning to use what little I have.

After working with the above for a little while, upgrade to a Didi 002 or 003, depending on budget and what's available on Ebay. Get a better condensor mic for recording acoustic guitars/vocals. Hopefully I'll be at this stage near the end of summer. Maybe also add a decent parametric EQ. (I've been looking at the Speck ASC)

During my summer break - Clean out my small studio space, and do some work with drywall, green glue and a little studio foam. The goal won't be to make it soundproof, but to hopefully control the sound a little better and get the room to sound halfway decent. Thankfully, I'm pretty handy so I think I can do most of the work myself. Spend more time learning to use what I have at this point until I save up more money to upgrade.