DR Strings?!?!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ibanez4life SZ!, Aug 25, 2006.

1. ibanez4life SZ!

ibanez4life SZ! Member

Hey guys!

My new RG came with a set of DR 10's....

I know it is a completely different guitar and even gauge than I am used to, but the strings feel and sound sooo much more alive than my D'addarios.....almost as if I'm playing an acoustic.....it's amazing!

So, does anyone else have any experience with DR strings? My SZ is setup with 11's, and I'm thinking about putting DRs on it instead of the D'addarios I've been using for the last 2 years......

2. AaeCee

AaeCee Member

I use DR 'Pure Blues' 10s on several guitars. A nice warm sounding string, and for some reason they always feel slinkier than most others to me.

3. ibanez4life SZ!

ibanez4life SZ! Member

That's something I'm looking for! My D'addarios get way too stiff too fast.

4. Teleplayer

Teleplayer Silver Supporting Member

I've used a couple types of DR's. IMHO, they have always felt far too "spongy" for me.

5. kanegon

kanegon Supporting Member

I use zebras on a piezo/hum Hamer Duotone. Unique, they alternate bronze and steel winding for more acoustic-electric effect. Why didn't anyone think of this? Works as advertised.

6. straticus

straticus Member

I've been using DR Tite-fit 10-46's for the past few years and I'm sticking with them.

7. mybusinessmy

mybusinessmy Member

I've been using D'addario 9's. DR makes a very high quality string, but D'addario has always felt best to me.

8. TestierWheat

TestierWheat Member

I love the feel and tone of the DR Pure Blues. However, I have found that I tend to get about 5 or 6 bad strings out of every 10 packs. I find that I get more consistency out of D'addario.

9. JoeP

JoeP Member