Dr Z Route 66, tube replacement

hylo

Hi guys!

I have a Dr Z Route 66 which is REALLY awesome. It's loud and kicks some serious ass, but one of my bandmates has a Matamp GT40. Which can pump out a little bit more. I don't mind that at all - when we play loud I bring out my '72 Hiwatt DR103. But I need a little bump in the headroom-department on the Route 66. Not a lot, just a little touch.

If I change over tubes from KT66s to 6L6s, will it increase headroom slightly? Or am I better off trying out other KT66's?
Any ideas?

I'm pretty new to the whole changing out tubes (to other tubes that may fit). Is there any good resources online to get a bit of education on the subject?

71strat

Yeah speakers will make the biggest SPL increase.

What speakers are you using ? A 3db increase in db is = to doubling your wattage.

Steppin' Wolfe

Silver Supporting Member
Yeah speakers will make the biggest SPL increase.

What speakers are you using ? A 3db increase in db is = to doubling your wattage.
Actually, to double volume through the same speaker one would have to increase power output by 10 times.
Doubling the power output...wattage.....is a barely perceptible change. That is why I suggested an increase in speaker efficiency is the easiest way to increase volume. A 3db change is very perceptible....a 6 db increase in efficiency is like going from a 10 watt amp to a 100 watt amp.

lostpoet2

Silver Supporting Member
Are you running a 12ax7 as your phase inverter tube? If so, a 5751 is a popular alternative for increasing headroom.

Tone Meister

Yes, speakers for sure.

Another thing to consider: not sure if that amp is a candidate for a solid state rectifier. I know the difference is night and day in my KT45 between the 5AR4 and a solid state rectifier.

That would be something worth looking in to as well.

hylo

Speakers do more for that headroom thing than anything else, ime.