DRRI bright cap question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Presc, Jun 30, 2008.

1. Presc

Presc Member

I know clipping the bright cap on the vibrato channel of a DRRI is a common mod many have done. While I am getting a good sound with my pedals, there is a bit of fizz on the top end that I would like to get rid of. From what I understand, clipping the bright cap will get rid of this.

Here's my question: I like the vibrato channel much more than the normal. The normal channel sounds flat to me, the vibrato channel is much "springier". Does clipping the bright cap change the unaffected sound of the channel? Will it make my vibrato channel more like a normal channel with reverb? Because I don't want that.

Thanks!

2. Deadduck

Deadduck Member

I'm no amp expert so I'm just going to repeat what I've read and my experience with my DRRI.

It is my understanding that the vibrato channel has two stages of gain vs one for the normal channel. So the vibrato channel won't sound exactly like the normal channel. But clipping the bright cap will dull the tone down more like the normal channel.

Personally, I've found that with some good tubes (NOS Mullards and JAN GE and Tung Sol Reissues), proper biasing, and a better speaker (mine had the Emminence, replaced with a Weber 12F150B), clipping the bright cap is not necessary. At least I'm happy with my second channel.

Another way to get the normal channel sounding better is the so-called Fritz mod, which puts the channels into phase so they can be jumpered, and also adds reverb and tremelo to the normal channel. http://www.fenderforum.com/userphotos/index.html?recid=48201

I haven't done this mod as I'm pretty clumsy with a soldering iron, but I may have it done one day. I'm happy with my amp now, but I only use the vibrato channel.

3. Presc

Presc Member