Duane Allman scales?????

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by duaner58, Feb 3, 2012.

1. duaner58

duaner58 Supporting Member

I have been in a solo rut for quite sometime.. Always minor/major pentatonic. I'm self taught so I have very little grasp on theory here.

As far as Skydog's non-slide playing technique what scales should I learn to solo into out of a minor pentatonic? Mix? Lyd?

And I guess better yet how do you decipher from the root note.

I'm dumb.

2. TimH

TimH Member

Although I'm not a huge Duane buff the first thing I'd suggest is to learn to move between major and minor pentatonics in the same solo. Duane did this, Clapton did, many of the early guys most interesting solos and sounds came when they started mixing the two.

3. RLD

RLD Member

Maybe Dorian or Aeolian?
    I am a self taught pentatonic wanker as well...ha ha.
    What has helped me is to study the major scale.
    It's really that simple.
    Learn the 7 positions /3 notes per string so you can see the entire neck as one giant pattern
    It will help you see past the pent boxes and give you a better feel for how modes work as well.

4. Hotspur

Hotspur Member

Yeah, wasn't Duane mostly pentatonic? I haven't really broken down a lot of his solos, but they FEEL pentatonic. He certainly wasn't a theory hound, either. I think he was doing a lot of the major/minor pentatonic mixing thing.

5. Elektrik_SIxx

Elektrik_SIxx Member

I hear a lot of Dorian (Whipping Post, Elizabeth Reed) and Ionian (Mountain Jam etc) in his playing. This is off the top of my head there maybe more.
    But in reality I think he just added some notes to his major and minor pentatonic stuff.

6. inca_roads

inca_roads Member

^^this, along with mixolydian...

7. gennation

gennation Member

I have a pretty in depth tutorial on the common way the great rock guitarists mixed the Major Pentatonic scale with the Blues scale here: http://lessons.mikedodge.com/lessons/AdvPent/AvdPentTOC.htm