Duane Allman - Statesboro Blues Tone

smokermaker

Silver Supporting Member
I'm more interested in the amp, since there's no way I can get anywhere close to the guitar. I play lapsteel these days, so I'm pretty much set on that.
The 50 amp heads are bass spec plexis? No pedals on any kind, I'm guessing? I don't remember ever hearing any mentioned...

smokermaker

Silver Supporting Member
I just saw on the interweb they said he used the SG on Statesboro. I have no knowledge, either way. Is that the Dickey Betts 'red guitar' that Charlie Daniels sang about? The website said Dickey gave it to Duane so he wouldn't have to keep re-tuning it.

71strat

Duanes speakers at the Fillmore Concert were a combination of Celestion G12H x 30 watt x JBL D120Fs in open backs. These were his main speakers until later. He switched to Cerwin Vega. But still also used the Celestions.

I like is JBL/Celestion sound best. Betts was strictly JBL D120Fs.

Last edited:

bob-i

I believe that is incorrect. Duane used the Les Paul throughout the recording. You can hear him detune from open E after one of the slide songs.

i don't think so. I was at the Fillmore during the first show and I also saw the allmans with Duane one other time at the Fillmore earlier. If memory serves me right, Duane played the SG during the recording. Remember there were 3 shows recorded so it's possible that I saw a show where the cut wasn't used, it's also possible I'm remembering the wrong show.

rollyfoster

Silver Supporting Member
I just saw on the interweb they said he used the SG on Statesboro. I have no knowledge, either way. Is that the Dickey Betts 'red guitar' that Charlie Daniels sang about? The website said Dickey gave it to Duane so he wouldn't have to keep re-tuning it.

I think the red guitar he sang about was a Les Paul.

Edit: yep a 57

Last edited:

bob-i