Dynamic Reverb

Yeltnebwerdna

Hi There,

Ok so i'm a relative newbie with tech stuff so go easy.........

My amp is single channel has no effects loop or built in reverb. I am therefore running a reverb pedal into the front end (mooer skyverb). I use a fairly small amount of 'verb and leave it on all the time as I prefer a basic / simple setup and don't particularly enjoy messing about with pedals whilst playing. I also like to control my volume / tone through the guitar controls.

Problem I've found is that if I set the reverb to my desired level for my clean sound with the guitar volume down, there is then more reverb than I want with the volume pot fully open for my overdrive sound (i'm only using a modest amount of gain and playing blues / blues rock). If anything, I think i'd prefer less reverb on my overdrive / lead sound than on my clean sound but that's the opposite of what i'm getting.

Might there be a solution to this with my current pedal? Or can anyone recommend a dynamic / transparent alternative that might do a better job without busting the bank? I prefer compact / simple gear and I believe that the TC have done a toneprint with JD simo for the Hall of Fame that's supposed to work in this way. Anybody used it?

Sorry for the long / slightly vague question and thanks in advance

Andrew

-Empire

Most reverbs are designed like that. The harder you hit it, the more reverb you get. For blues you don't need a bunch of verb, just turn off the pedal when you're playing lead. If you have it set to a subtle setting it will get lost in the mix anyway. Plus most rooms have enough natural reverb for that style, so you shouldn't have to worry about sounding too dry.

Check out the TC Nova Reverb - I'm pretty sure it has a dynamic reverb that would do exactly as you like. The other option would a reverb with presets, such as the Blue Sky. You could have two presets, one for clean, one for dirty and just switch between.