1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

e609,e906 comparisons?

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Igneous, May 25, 2005.

1. Igneous

Igneous Member

Ive heard good things about both. Is it worth it to shell out the extra cash?

2. sws1

sws1 Member

I just got a e609 the other night. Never heard or seen the 906. Right out of the box, I was able to hang the mic over top of Shiva cabinet, halfway on the speaker cone, and record exactly what I was hearing in the room.

I've spent tons of time with SM-57 trying to record Shiva never to get it to sound right at all. 2 mins, the e609 worked. Clean tone sounded great too.

Keep in mind that the reason I got it was to simplify micing my cabs and getting good demo tone quickly. I'm far from a recording engineer, so someone with more experience and better ear than me may be more what you're looking at.

3. TAVD

TAVD Guitar Player Gold Supporting Member

The 906 is supposed to bridge the gap b/t the 609 silver and the 609. I tried a 609 silver and wasn't really blown away but the 906 is on my list of mics to buy. Maybe once I get mine, I'll put it up on a 4x12 along with a 57, 517 (my fav) and a Blue ball.

4. Igneous

Igneous Member

How do you position the blue ball?

5. Igneous

Igneous Member

He-He, I just realised how funny that sounds.:D

6. TAVD

Position the ball just like you would a 57. They're actually pretty similar in sound. I prefer to put it about 8-12" away from the speaker, and I like a 57 out there also.

7. Chiba

Chiba Gold Supporting Member

I've been using a 609 as a vocal mic lately, I really love it for live singing.

I picked up an extra one to shlep to rehearsals & gigs just to make sure I'm using my own mic, that I don't have to sing into a beer-, smoke-, or plague-infested 57 or 58 that belongs to the club.

All hail the versatile e609! :D

--chiba

8. Randy

Randy Member