• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

EA Monorail SIS vs Soldered

peter_heijnen

Anybody tried Monorail SIS vs soldered? I did today.

I've been using monorail for 10 years or so, but only with soldered plugs. Because i'm building a new small board i ordered a SIS set because of the smaller plugs. Putting the SIS cables together is real simple but before installing i first wanted to AB SIS with one of my soldered monorail cables.

Well, i don't think they're very good, the soldered cable simply sounded better. I tested one patch cable between a true bypass Carl Martin The Fuzz and a buffered Carl Martin Chorus Xii in bypass. Both clean and fuzz sounds sounded better with the soldered patch cable.

I've tried George L in the past and now these, no solderless for me anymore.

mike6m

I bought the monorail SIS kit and I don’t love it. While it is small and good cable, I’m slowly switching to soldered cables because the connections are better.

I can’t say if it sounds better though.

jacobhf

Silver Supporting Member
Ive switched from soldered plugs w/monorail to SIS w/monorail with no perceivable change.

If you're hearing a difference in sound there may be an error with how they're being assembled. How are you making them?

johnh

I had given up on solderless cables, but was still attracted to the convenience and size. So I decided to give solderless one last go, and I tried EA SIS cables. I’m completely convinced. I’ve never had such strong, stable solderless cables. I love them.

I find it hard to believe that the guy from the gigrig would be using sis cables for some of the worlds best guitarists if they were so obviously inferior sounding to soldered cables. I really trust his ears, and those of people like Matt Schofield. To be honest, I think you must be doing something wrong in your test.

Last edited:

rollyfoster

Silver Supporting Member