Early ABB - Marshall's with JBL speakers?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by ChazFromCali, Jan 18, 2015.

1. ChazFromCali

ChazFromCali Member

I've always liked the guitar sound of Allman Brothers Band especially the earlier stuff like Live at the Fillmore East and Brothers & Sisters. It used to be all over FM radio back then. Was talking with a bass-playing buddy the other day who dropped something of a bomb on me by telling me that Duane and Dickey put JBL speakers in their Marshall cabs?

I immediately did like a head slap thing ;-) Doh! :thudI had no idea.

Guess I never really thought about it much but it sure explains what I would call that characteristic ABB guitar sound of that era. Cleans up the Marshall/Celestion grit and gets a more defined sound.

I'm not a pro or have I ever owned a Marshall amp. Has anyone here tried using JBL's with a Marshall? Curious to what you think about that sound.

2. davebc

davebc Member

Dickey used JBL's running 100 or 50 watt heads
    Duane ran some Cerwin Vega's 50 watt heads

Those speakers were definitely one of major ingredients in those legendary blueprinted tones!

Hearing Duane and Dickey running those old Les Paul's into those screaming, creaming, verge of self destruction, Marshall output distortion through those JBL's and Cerwin Vega's created one of the most righteous guitar
    tones ever recorded.

No secret Duane also used Twins loaded JBLs in the studio.

JBLs sound fantastic!

3. GTRJoe

GTRJoe Supporting Member

Yes they did use JBL's. See the photo below
    [​IMG]

Notice that the upper cab is pretty much open and the bottom cab is closed. I have also heard that Duane also used Cerwin Vega !2" speakers at some point.