Early Benson Tone: Pickup ?s

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by JazzMac251, Apr 6, 2008.

1. JazzMac251

JazzMac251 Member

So this is my first time on TGP. What a great place! I'm sure i'll be back here many times in the near future. :)

I'm trying to mimic George Benson's mid-period tone viz. the After Hours: Live at the Casa Caribe or the 70's (maybe 80's depending on which caption you want to believe) recording of take 5 that can be found on you tube.

My first goal is to replace the Neck pup in my GB200 with some kind of mini-humbucker. I believe the one benson uses on his rig is the Ibanez GB Special mini HB. Right now i'm running a Seymour Duncan Jazz in the neck. I'm reluctant to buy the Ibanez pup for the following reasons:

1) The GB Special is a neck mounted pickup and the GB200's pickups are mounted on a mounting ring that is then attached to the top of the guitar - a la 95% of all modern jazz boxes. i Don't want to drill holes in my guitars neck to accomodate
    2) who in their right mind buys an Ibanez pickup after-market? In my experience, they're rather cheaply made and other specialty companies can get the job done better.
    3) the GB Special pup is more expensive than other pickups i've researched (e.g. Seymour Duncan)

I bought a Seymour Duncan Vintage Custom mini-HB from sam ash and just got finished putting it on after having to fabricate a custom mounting ring. As far as i can tell at this point, it sounds TERRIBLE. It's EXTREMELY EXTREMELY bright. It's probably the brightest pickup i've ever heard. Apparantly it was a bad idea to put that pup in a hollow body? :(

Can anyone give me any advice? Should i just go with the GB Special? If so, how can i mount it? If not, what pickup would give me the sound i'm looking for?

Also, if anyone has any other tips for getting the sound i'm looking for, i'm def. interested. i'm really stuck!

Thanks
    Justin

2. daddyo

daddyo Guest