Easy Songs to Transcribe/Learn by Ear

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by blissop, Apr 16, 2015.

1. blissop

blissop Member

I'm just starting out learning songs by ear and im wanting to learn songs that are easy and that I enjoy. Ive tried to learn some songs by ear, but they were clearly a bit above my level for transcribing. I couldnt decipher the bass lines too well. (I am learning bass and guitar) Also, I am using the software Transcribe to slow down the songs and to adjust eq.

So, I was wondering if anybody could suggest some songs to start with.. I enjoy bands like The Beatles, Rolling Stones, The Kinks, Bob Dylan, The Cure, The Strokes, Tame Impala, Deerhunter, Pink Floyd, The Doors, Cream etc Maybe acoustic music would be a good place to start. Thoughts?

Thanks!

2. dcbc

dcbc Member

The Stones are pretty straight forward if you ignore Keith's tuning. The Beatles stuff ranges from moderate to quite difficult.

3. gennation

gennation Member

4. JonR

JonR Member

The older the better - with pop music at least. (I mean "simpler" - not necessarily "better" in quality... ;)) Anything pre-mid-60s is worth trying.
    Early guitar instrumentals are great, because you get clean melodic lines, as well as (usually) clean rhythm and bass parts. Shadows, obviously, but also Ventures, Duane Eddy, etc.
    Songswise: Buddy Holly, Hank Williams, Elvis. Dylan should be good; also Neil Young. Both use simple chords almost all the time.
    Stones are also pretty straightforward.
    Beatles - great resource of inventive chord and key changes, but can be challenging to transcribe. Definitely worth digging into, for all kinds of reasons other than ear training! Kinks likewise, and probably a little simpler.