Educate me on computer recording please!!!

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Guitar Slinger6, Jan 22, 2012.

1. Guitar Slinger6

Guitar Slinger6 Member

I have been recording with a BR1600, all inclusive and easy to use. I have been recording and writing my own songs and using it to post music for feedback. Now, I am to the point of wanting to record them and get a top shelf sound out of them (I intend on selling my music), I have been talking to a guy from GC who seems to be well versed, however I want to get it right. He told me I would want an apogee symphony, lunchbox, and pro tools, I have zero experience and need some insight, I need at least 8 mic inputs and need it user friendly. Help please!!!

2. SteveO

SteveO Member

The salesman is pointing you at some of the pricer items. You don't NEED any of that.

3. Guitar Slinger6

Guitar Slinger6 Member

So what would you recommend?

4. SteveO

SteveO Member

I won't make any recommendations, as that seems to be a very individual thing for home recording gear. I did quite a bit of research before I made the transition from a Korg D3200 to computer-based recording, and for my needs Logic Studio was the best choice (I do a lot of MIDI stuff). It was a cheaper alternative to PT when I bought it three years ago (at $499), and now you can get it for $199!

The gear that the salesman recommended is definitely great stuff, but it just may be more than what you will actually need. You haven't mentioned what instruments are involved, what style of music, etc. All of this is relevant in the selection process.

You might also want to check out GearSlutz.com, it is the Gear Page of recording. TONS of information there to ponder.

5. Guitar Slinger6

Guitar Slinger6 Member