Effect order?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by gtrmaestro, Mar 15, 2008.

1. gtrmaestro

gtrmaestro Member

Hey there guys, I have been a guitar - overdrive - amp guy for a long time. However in what I'm doing now I'm needing to use more effects. I'm really not sure of the best route for my pedals and would appreciate any suggestions as I'm brand new to this. Also I run everything into the front end of my amp and have never tried an effects loop, don't even know if they would help at all. Here is what I'm running:

Guitar (PRS McCarty, 335 or Strat) to Boss tuner, to Snarling Dogs Black Bawls wah, to Cmatmods Tube Slammer, to Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor, to Line 6 DL4, to Cmatmods Signa Comp, to Electro Harmonix Small Stone, to Creation Audio Mk 4.23 Clean Boost, to the input of my Peavey Classic 30. I'm going to be adding in a Cmatmods Deeelay as soon as it arrives. Also using all George L's cables and a Voodoo Labs pedal power 2.
    I'm also thinking about adding a Volume pedal, would you put this before or after effects?
    Thanks a lot!!!

2. DaveukRN

DaveukRN Member

personally my rig is as below but it depends on the pedals ie which ones are true bypass etc. Just experiment on the floor before you comit it to a board:

- guitar
    fuzz
    wah wah
    compressor
    overdrive
    distortion
    eq
    phaser
    flanger
    chorus
    uni-vibe
    volume pedal
    delay
    - amp

3. wildschwein

wildschwein Member

The general way to do it is to stick all your distortion and wah/volume effects into the amp's front end, and then route all the modulation type effects through your effects loop. You should put your delay last in the effects loop chain and other mod effects like chorus/phase/flange etc in front of it so that all of those mod sounds feed into the delay.