Effects for travel?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by bobcs71, May 8, 2019.

1. bobcs71

bobcs71 Member

hey! I’m considering a multi effects or small board for travel. There would be a back line amp. I use overdrive, boost, delay & reverb. Budget is $350 or less. I play roots stuff: country, rocks & blues. I’m considering a used FlyRig or T-Rex Magnus. I am concerned that with boards, anything other than a 3 prong power supply like Voodoo or Cioks has resulted in noise. Any suggestions or comments or experiences?

2. coltonius

coltonius Señor Member Silver Supporting Member

Valeton also has a Dapper series with similar multi-FX strips available. I have no experience with them, but I've been interested for awhile!

bobcs71 likes this.
  3. PurpleJesus

PurpleJesus Jimi actually wrote Wind Cries Mary about me Staff Member Supporting Member

If it were me I think I'd go with a used multi-effects unit. Boss/Line6/etc... Just seems a heck of a lot easier to maintain one piece while traveling vs. 5-6 mini pedals + the power/noise issues that can sometimes happen w/ pedals and not-so-great pedal power units.

If you go with a small Nano sized board I'm sure you can keep it under $350, but it'd be hard if you don't already have the power supply to stay under budget. The mini pedals are really dang good though now a days. You could get new overdrive, boost, delay and reverb mini pedals for $200, Nano for $50 (used) and then have $100 left for a power supply?

Personally, I'd just get a multi-effect and make the best of it, but whatever inspires your playing (and you're willing to put up with) is really the answer.

Not Orange, bobcs71 and coltonius like this.
  4. bobcs71

bobcs71 Member

I am thinking multi effects. I’ve had lots of pedals and never really found any inspiring. Guitars definitely, amps sometimes, pedals...meh.

PurpleJesus likes this.
  5. kramm47

kramm47 Member