Effects Loop vs. Front End

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by jakins, Feb 16, 2006.

1. jakins

jakins Member

Okay, ive been playing for over 15 years, so this may seem like a dumb question, but...ive always played my pedal chain (3 or 4 pedals) thru the front of my shiva...is that bad, or should i use the effects loop? What are the pro's / con's of either way?

2. wsaraceni

wsaraceni Member

i dont know of any pro's or cons. what effects are you using. most people put time based effects in the loop. i only use a delay and i put it up front. just seem to like it better that way. although the tte might be different than other delays

3. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

If there are effects that you would prefer to not be distorted, then they'll fare better in the loop. That doesn't mean your pedals will work better in the loop. Loops and pedals don't always get along. But you can't tell w/o trying. I seem to recall that the Shiva requires the use of an odd cable in its loop. You may want to read the manual on that.

4. jakins

jakins Member

im using a fulldrive 2, a fulltone fatboost, fulltone supa-trem, and a line 6 delay.

5. voodoogreg

voodoogreg Member

I depend's on the amp setting's (gain sensitivity) the effects, (eg certain model's of delay's will work better in front then others) and effect order.
    Also how much "effect" your adding to your rig.

I seem to see three distinct setup's: old school, modified old school and post pre-amp integration.

Simply put OS is all in front, and here is were layout of the effect's is critical. delay's and boost's/distortion
    become more tricky here. If you listen to cut's from 60's -70's album's
    player's had a tape unit on top of the amp or near by, boost and wah's on the floor. many like myself, find this setup preferable for a more pure tone