Effects Parameters - Helix and AX8 and Patch Creation

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by manatarms, Apr 22, 2016.

1. manatarms

manatarms Member

I'm interested in both the Helix and AX8 and have asked some general questions about their effects and their parameters and what options are available and how one might go about creating certain patches on each. I did some screen captures to hopefully help ask my questions.

A little background on me, I'm mostly a classic rock/blues and 80s rock/metal player. I play in a hobby/cover band. We do about 10 paid gigs a year. I've been playing for about 30 years. I've been using amp modeling units as far back as the Roland GP-100, which was my first modeling unit. I also used to have a full Scholz Rockman Rockmodule rack setup. I've owned a Line 6 POD, Line6 HD500, Boss GT-8, GT-10 and GT-100. I also have owned a Tech 21 PSA, Rocktron Voodu Valve and some others. Just mentioning those because I've had a lot of experience with different units and also with creating what I like for tones and what effects I like and what I like to be able to do with them (or would like to do with them.)

I haven't seen very much, probably because it's so new, about the effects parameters on the Helix and the options you might have for those effects. I have seen more from the AxeFx side, again probably because it's been out longer. The effects that the AX8 has that the AxeFx has, from my understanding, are the same and have the same parameters. So I'm wondering how some setups might be accomplished on the Helix.