Electric Guitar Modification Research

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by AmpleI, May 2, 2015.

1. AmpleI

AmpleI Member

Hi,

My name is Iain, I am studying Music at University and I am currently working on my final year dissertation.

My topic is ‘Electric Guitar Modification’ and my main focus is understanding and explaining why players modify their instruments.

To make things clearer I am stating that many things can count as a modification, from the heavy routing of material to install various mechanisms, to much simpler mods, such as changing a string tree. I am also paying attention to aesthetic changes, whether that’s applying a sticker to the guitar, or even the slightly controversial subject of relic-ing.

So far I have covered most of the areas I hoped to look at, from the history of the guitar and its predecessors, to the psychological reasons behind a player wanting to change the function/aesthetics of the instrument they are so attached to.

However, for my final section I would like to hear from some players out there who have experience in modifying their instruments, or even the instruments of others.

So if you are one and would be happy to explain why and how you have gone about these changes to your/others instruments, I would be grateful if I could quote you within my work. I have mainly focused upon Modifications made to Fender and Gibson guitars, but would be interested to hear stories and reasons for changes made to any other makes.

I am also really keen to hear people’s views on modification, maybe some of you would consider yourself a purist? As in you see no reason to even touch a guitar, especially a vintage one.

Or do you disagree entirely with modification and believe people modifying should simply look into the custom guitar industry?

Thank you for your time and your help, I look forward to hearing your responses and shall keep in touch.

Iain

:idea

2. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member