• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!
  • If you are seeing this, you are on the new TGP servers. Bear with us as we work out any issues related to the move. The end result should be a far better snappier experience on TGP. *Notice: You can close this notice by clicking on the "X" in the upper right corner.

Electric guitar setup advise

Machew

Silver Supporting Member
I am going to bring my Ibanez "Woody" into be set up. I have never done this before, and want to know what I should let them know I want. Here is what I know to tell them.

Round the fret ends.
Set it up with 10's and down tune it a half step

What am I missing? How do I tell them how low to set the strings? Also, how much should I expect to pay?

I'm no expert, but I'll help. Techs can be a mixed bunch (like I don't know about the quality of Guitar Center techs), so try and be as specific as possible, and sound him out first to make sure he's not an idiot. If he's got good experience he shouldn't mess it up.

If you have the string height measurements that you prefer you could bring those. Otherwise it's hard to be specific. The good news is that adjusting the action by yourself is an absolute piece of cake, so if it's not perfect just do it yourself. Even Floyd's aren't that tricky. Truss rod adjustments are nice too, lower relief is my preference. Again, if your tech isn't an idiot then telling him that you like low relief shouldn't stray too far from the mark, but people's perceptions of what "low relief" means can vary. If you have the measurements that would probably help. Someone could tell you how to measure it, I don't know how that's done but whatever.

If your frets don't need a level then you shouldn't have to worry about that.

I've paid around $50-$60 for setups in the past, but I'd say more than $100 is a ripoff.