Electro Harmonix True Bypass

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by kevs, Jan 23, 2020.

1. kevs

kevs Member

Thinking of getting the Neo Clone, but friend saying ECs true bypass is not that great? Anyone know more about this issue? Thanks.

2. Cousin

Cousin Member

I hadn't heard that, I have the EHX East River Drive and it seems to sound pretty natural when bypassed. I have however had experiences with other supposed true bypass pedals that lead me to believe that not all true bypass systems were created equal.
    Just so you know, some people get really worked up when you bring up true bypass, (not me) but brace yourself.

monty and kevs like this.
  3. kevs

kevs Member

thanks Cousin I'm new to this. My buddy playing 40 years, says thing is not just what you mentioned, but how effect other pedals when everything is turned off. He is one says EC true bypass is mediocre. But who knows if he is correct. That's why I'm posting.

I have a $13 Danelectro chorus that sounds fine, but has no true bypass, so I'm aiming for all pedals to have it except one or two Boss. But EC.. neo clone chous good/ or negligible true bypass?

Cousin likes this.
  4. monty

monty Member

I have a bunch of EHX TB pedals, never noticed the doing anything funky to the signal.

Cousin and kevs like this.
  5. beastly

beastly Member

Bunk. Some specific older models maybe, but they’re one of my fave brands. Worry not.

Cousin and kevs like this.
  6. kevs

kevs Member

Thanks guys, and final question: I did buy a Danelctro chorus, sounds pretty good but has no true bypass. It's worth $70 or so to get EC with true bypass. (I'd use the Danelectro as paper weight, which is ok)

I think knobs on EC are nicer as well...

7. Cousin

Cousin Member

I have noticed some pedals effect each other in a negative way when in line with each other. I only use the East River Drive by itself, never on my board, so your buddy may be right.

8. lefort_1