Eleven Rack thru what? (for home use)

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by luv, Dec 22, 2013.

1. luv

luv Member

Looking at getting an Eleven Rack (way late to the party, but the price is right and some of the sounds that I've heard are really good). I'm really having a hard time deciding what I would run it through, speaker wise. I've considered a single powered PA speaker, A T21 PE60 or a pair of powered studio monitors. I'll be using it with headphones quite a bit, but definitely will have plenty of opportunity to play it thru some sort of speaker set up.

My budget would be in the $250 - $400 dollar range.

The room that I'm mostly going to be using the 11R in is 10x12, so I don't need the power of a PE60. Like anyone, I prefer larger speakers when they are allowed to breath a little, so the PE 60 might be overkill.

I have no experience with powered PA speakers, but I'd probably pick up something with an 8' or 10" woofer. I'm guessing they are fairly frfr.

Studio monitors might do the trick nicely. I originally thought that I'd also use them for my pc speakers, but most of them look pretty big to sit on a desk on either side of my 23" monitor. My wife is fairly tolerant of my gear, so if I did opt to go this route, she would be ok with it. I could also just set them up away from the PC and use them only for guitar use.

I want good sound at quiet to moderate volumes with the ability to occasionally turn it up fairly loud. I don't need excessive volume.

I dunno.....what are you guys/gals (yeah, right) using?

2. neoprimitive

neoprimitive Member

For your budget I vote studio monitors. Awesome for very low controlled volumemes, yet still loud enough to shake the house when you want to.

3. birdie_in_texas

birdie_in_texas I can haz virgins?

i love my little Rokit 5's with my Axe 2 and my 11R..

4. SteelDragon72

SteelDragon72 Member

I always suggest Behringer Truth 2031As as a great FRFR solution for those on a budget.