Elmwood modena90 clips and 1st impressions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by paulscape, Jan 27, 2008.

1. paulscape

paulscape Member

Elmwood modena90

This amp is just awesome! I’ve only had it a couple of weeks and it only had its maiden loud volume test at rehearsal on Saturday. It’s superb for playing around home at low volumes and totally kicks ass once you get it up in volume so the bass and feedback come through. Wow wow wow! Damn this thing looks cool too in the red birch. Like a Maserati GT – unpretentious but meant for serious business.

Ok so I’m a hack guitarist compared to most guys on TGP but I tried to record some clips anyway. My studio is down awaiting an upgrade so I went and bought a little zoom H4 recorder. These things are fantastic for recording your bands jam sessions and would be really handy for recording live gigs and nature sounds. The first clip is recorded on medium gain on a chair about 2ft away from and a little above the amp and the second clip is recorded on low gain about 1 ft away from the speaker cloth. I really have no idea what I’m doing yet with this thing but you’ll get an idea of what it’s like in the room with the amp. The zoom also takes external mics so I’ll have to try it with a shure57 and NT1 condenser mix soon. I have some reverb and delay on in the loop and there’s some room ambience too as I have reflective wooden floorboards. You can hear me click from clean neck pickup, to clean boost to clean boost with bridge pickup and finally channel 2 on normal and with boost at the end when I’m soloing.

At home I’m running the Elmwood through a closed back 2x12 with a V30/G75t celestion mix and at rehearsal through a 4x12 closed back with greenbacks. Both sound great. The greenbacks a little warmer, the v30/gt75 a little crunchier. The clips are through the 2x12 at home and using a Ibanez jem77FL

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=799258

alternate clip links: