Envelope filter pedal vs wah pedal

stbhorn

I've never used a envelope filter pedal before, was thinking about getting one . . I currently have a cry baby wah . . . Do they sound much different?

rte1023

Yeah they are definitely different although similar. I just picked up a DOD 440 and it is awesome.

I think of Phaser, Envelope Filter, and Wah as being along a line. Phaser will just be going through it's sweeps no matter what you play. Wah is tied to the expression of your foot so it gives you the most control. Envelope filter is somewhere between the two and is based on your playing dynamics. So if you play hard it will "wah" to the higher frequency and if you play soft it stays in the lower. It's great if you are playing more notes and/or a faster tempo, funk players like it so they don't break their ankles killing it on a wah. With that it's able to give that effect per each note whereas it may be hard or tiring to get the wah to be that active. But with auto wah you can't have that wild variable expression that a treadle has. So they're related but most definitely different capabilities.

wyatt

Yes, listen to Fire on the Mountain by the Grateful Dead, then listen to Voodoo Chile.
That may not be the best example, This is an envelope filter as well...

But for the OP, what makes the EF unique is the envelope follower itself and how it responds to your playing. Plus, unlike a wah, it always starts the sweep in the same place and sweeps up (or down) for there with each note, giving a percussive effect. And, indeed, it is synonymous with Jerry Garcia, Bootsy Collins, etc.

jwny72

They're different, though similar. One can get a filter to sound very much like a wah, or quite different. Filters can be very versatile. I have and use both. Get a good filter, you won't regret it.

rte1023