Epi Masterbuilt or Seagull S6+CW?

Discussion in 'Acoustic Instruments' started by Goldstrat, May 8, 2008.

1. Goldstrat

Goldstrat Member

I am a real rookie when it comes to acoustics and i could use some advice. I am looking for an inexpensive but decent guitar and I have found 2 very good deals. The first is a Seagull S6+ CW for $365 it has a case and the electronics that come in those. The second is an Epiphone Masterbuilt I forget the model number but I think it is AJ500CN or something like that it has a case and no electronics and is $399. The Epi has a Sitka top and rosewood sides and back and the Seagull is Cedar.

I would like to know the differences from anyone who knows and also just what anyone likes or dislikes about either one. They are both real good deals as far as I can tell. Thanks in advance!!!

2. texasdave

texasdave Member

I'll jump in and say you probably won't make a bad choice either way... If you're wanting to use light gauge strings the Seagull might be the winning choice... Generally speaking, both guitars would rate very well in a sub $500 shootout...

3. aquadog

aquadog Member

Seagulls are almost always consistently incredible guitars for the money

4. rdamato

rdamato Supporting Member

Look into a Blueridge. They will blow both away!!

5. CocoTone

CocoTone Senior Member

Seagull pal. Keep your $$$ in North America. Plus, the Seagull is twice the guitar the Epi is.

CT.

6. edwarddavis

edwarddavis Supporting Member

Get a Seagull, great guitars I have one a love it ,

7. Jimmydeez

Jimmydeez Supporting Member

+100 on the Seagull. I have an S6 cedar that I have been using for years. I have had Martins, Breedloves, Taylors, and I have a new Martin OMC Aura on the way but I'm sure I will never let go of my Seagull because it has such a great tone. Different then all of the others I mentioned but great.

8. CocoTone

CocoTone Senior Member

[​IMG]

S6 spruce solid top. Awesome tone.

CT.

9. Goldstrat

Goldstrat Member