Eric Johnson............East Wes

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by Rock Fella, Jul 30, 2006.

1. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

click on 1st fretmarker to open the mp3....http://web.onetel.com/~jamesmichael21/

I have an excellent backer for this song so I went for the light and shade contained within the track , a la East Wes is my tipping of the hat to Wes Montgomery and Eric Johnson , I hope you like it and thanks for giving it a listen.

Jimmy

2. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

does this clip suck, please tell me, its how i progress and learn , im a total novice at mixing and am trying to learn this craft as I go along. 55 views and not a solitary comment , be it good, indifferent or bad :confused:

On another site the playing and style was praised but fault was found with the overall mix, it was noted that i applied a bit too much reverb which led to the gtr being pushed a bit farther back than neccessary. ALL objective points raised are worthy in my books so please post some thoughts.A site like TGP most certainly has a membership whos views are definitely worth taking on board :dude

Jimmy

3. dpeterson

dpeterson Member

i'll chime in...

i think the overall mix sounded ok, only thing lacking was low end. the bass guitar seemed real far back in the mix. did you run any kind of mastering plugin on this? like waves l3 ultramaximizer? if not that should help bring up the levels. I guess the whole thing sounded too far back to me, not up front... maybe that is what you were going for?

another thing is what are you using for mixing? speakers? headphones? you really need a good set of flat monitors that you are familiar with to get the best mix that translates to any type of device.

dave

4. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

Now thats the kind of feedback that is worth studying. :AOK