Ever have parents inflame your GAS???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by slayerbear17, Jul 12, 2019 at 3:30 AM.

1. slayerbear17

slayerbear17 Member

I visited my dad tonight only to go home wanting new speaker choices. Some of my gear stays at his place, and he comes out to video our gigs once in awhile.

He already inflamed my GAS when it comes to pedals, now I,m going home thinking the kids can live off 2 minute noodles for a week lol while I think some new speakers wouldn't go astray.

My wife supports my GAS, but somehow influenced by my dad wont fly.
    TBC.

2. DonP

DonP Member

Yes, in an "anti-parent" sort of way?

3. NorCal_Val

NorCal_Val Member

Uh, no.
    Well, ok, sorta. When they bought me my first guitar, 39 years ago.
    (Even though it was a plywood Hondo)
    Does that count?

mcuguitar likes this.
  4. C-4

C-4 Member

I love Red Bank, NJ! Florida now Europe later
    When I started playing in the 1950's, my father had played with the professional swing bands to put himself through med school. My mother had been a classical pianist.

My father told me that Gibson (at that time, of course) made the best guitars, and he bought me one. When it came time for me to get a new guitar, he originally tried to order me a D'Angelico from John D'Angelico in NYC, who was still building them himself. Mr. D'Angelico passed away just before starting my guitar, so he ordered me a custom made Gibson Super 400. As time progressed, my parents both supported my guitar playing and gear, and were responsible for me getting onto the custom high end guitar wagon, and amp wagon.

I have lived my life playing high end custom made Gibson, Master Built Fenders, and guitars from other high end companies, like Vigier, XOX, Suhr, Schecter of California (when they first started), and others.

Of course, I also had a few production model guitars, but the mainstay of my gear was always the high end stuff.