• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Explain High Gain v. Low Gain Distortion Pedals

makefast

So I'm new to guitar (I have been playing upright and electric bass for years, but just bought my first guitar a month or so ago) and to effects. I keep hearing specific pedals referred to as High Gain or Low Gain. Googling has turned up nothing as to what that actually means (probably because the search is so generic).

Can anyone give me an 'Idiot's Version' of what that means? Maybe some classic examples of OD that falls in the 'high gain' category and some in the 'low gain' category? Is one more suited to specific genres?

DecoWaves

Gold Supporting Member
Just to sort of provide a starting reference .... and this will be overly simplistic,

On a scale of 1 to 20, if 10 represents the most amplified (loudest) point of the guitar tone you can achieve without any distortion of sound, then ...

Light Gain would be found between levels 11 ~ 15 where there is a light break-down of the sound clarity starts to occur and more crunch is introduced as it is turned up BUT the original cleanish tone is still identifiable in the mix.

Heavy Gain would be 16 ~ 20 where the distortion is overpowering the clean tone and/or there is a very heavy fuzz ... the nature of the distortion is dependent on the type of pedal/circuit.