Exploring amp options, considering a modeler

rauchman

Greetings,

Have been exploring new amp options lately, among them, a Boss GT1000, and now the Helix. I currently have a Peavey Classic 50 head (bought new in the mid 90's) going through a 4x12 and a Katana 100c.

This amp exploration has taken me from the Boss GT1000, to the EVH 5150 III, to a variety of Marshalls, and now possibly, the Helix.

I've never become well versed in how to use MIDI and so forth, and have concerns that the Boss GT100 /Helix might be too "techy" for me, but am open to trying.

First off.... Boss GT1000 or Helix and why?

I have zero experience with either. Which sounds the closest to classic amp sounds? Another way of asking, which has better amp emulation? Looking for clean, crunch and heavy gain.

I've read about FRFR's briefly. Are these basically PA speakers, or are there specific rigs for this? Suggestions?

I have to believer, the lightweight and compactness of this type setup blows away slogging around a big amp head and 4x12 cab. Is all that's needed is the modeler and a speaker setup? Anything else?

I'm sure I'll have a bunch more questions as I learn more about this new world. Thanks for your help!

sleewell

i would just suggest easing in. going straight to direct to FOH or FRFR is usually what trips people up.

start with it in 4cm with your amp, mainly for effects and switching. learn it inside and out. then maybe start to rely on amp modeling more. then progress to going direct or FRFR.

i think the helix with a quilter and regular guitar cabs is perfect but everyone is different.

LaXu

If you want something less techy, the all analog BluGuitar Amp 1 Mercury does a lot in a tiny box but it doesn't have much in the way of fx. Must like Marshall type tones though as it's not a modeler.