Extension Cab for Vox AC15C1?

Medgeking

I'm looking to get some heavier sounds out of my AC15C1 and several people here suggested that I change out my speaker or add an extension cabinet. Frankly, I'm a total novice when it comes to cabinets in terms of wattage, ohms, etc. Looking at the back panel of my amp, I see there is a output labeled "External SP" and one labeled "Extension SP". What is the difference?

I'm inclined towards getting a separate cabinet because I really do like the sound of the combo as is for some things, but want some flexibility. I'm looking to get some heavy/sludgy sounds like Baroness, Kylesa, The Sword, etc. However, I also do love 60's sounds for things like surf, garage rock and psychedelia.

I spoke briefly with Andrew @ Mojotone who suggested a 210 loaded with their "Watchtower" speakers.

Any suggestions for me in terms of cabinet and speaker choice?

WhoJamFan

Silver Supporting Member
Just guessing, but I'd imagine Extension=with the amps speaker connected-both at same time
External=without the amps speaker connected-just what you plug into it-no amp speaker

Absolutely NEVER turn your amp on without a speaker-external and/or internal-connected!
You can quickly kill your amp that way.
Or
If you have a dummy load plugged in, but that's a whole other thread.

For your sludgy needs, try an eq pedal first-easy to return it if it doesn't work out-before dropping big dough on a new cab and speakers that may or may not work for you. Even with a return policy, soeakers are like $25 to ship and you may get nailed with a "restocking fee."

Medgeking

Medgeking

PS: what about the Rock pedals from amptweaker? I like heavy music, but I usually like lower levels of gain and distortion? I like the grit and articulation of less compression.

MmcGrouty

http://www.amptweaker.com/page/FatMetal-Distortion-by-Amptweaker-97.aspx