(facetious title) Learning to play jazz necessary?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by cantstoplt021, May 1, 2016.

1. cantstoplt021

cantstoplt021 Member

Sorry for the long post.

I'm currently majoring in jazz guitar performance in school and I'm not having the greatest time. I do like jazz and respect the hell out of the musicians that play it, but it isn't my main love. Also I have to admit that when it comes to jazz, guitar does little for me. I really like jazz piano, bass and drums, but guitar not so much, (I also play those three instruments to varying degrees and would be much happier majoring in them, but I wouldn't graduate on time). I've definitely become a way better player from studying jazz, but it's getting to the point where I'm just not enjoying practicing jazz guitar anymore. I still enjoy playing other styles, but practicing jazz guitar stuff is like pulling teeth most of the time. However I enjoy practicing jazz on piano, drums and bass. Go figure.

I have two semesters left and in order to graduate I need to prove to the faculty that I can play jazz pretty well. I also have to have twenty different jazz tunes memorized (changes, melody, soloing, etc.), which for you jazz lovers probably sounds like a joke, but for me it sounds like an absolute nightmare.