Fairfield Circuitry Barbershop Overdrive

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by tatoi, Feb 17, 2009.

1. tatoi

tatoi Member

Hi folks.

I received my Barbershop yesterday, just before I was leaving my house for band practice. So basically, I was able to use it in a band situation on the day I got it:)

[​IMG]

Here's my first impression(s) for any of you who are interested:

It is great. Really great. Very touch responsive and clean. I don't know whether if it's a KLON killer since I've never owned a KLON, but the way the Barbershop adds sparkle and grit is just amazing.

I've been using a Fulltone OCD for about 2-3 years and while the OCD is also a great pedal, I sometimes find myself being bugged by the amount of low-end it adds. The Barbershop on the other hand, is very transparent. There's no unnecessary low-end like the OCD. There's no mid-range hump like TS variants...It's clean. I think the guy from Fairfield said that it opens up your tone. That's what I thought about it. I'm not sure what it's adding to the signal, but it just makes the original tone sound better IMO.

It can get pretty dirty if you want it to, depending on the Dirt and Sag knob combination.

Anyways, that's my opinion. If your looking for a clean OD, definitely give it a try. This pedal needs more attention.

2. iggs

iggs Member

LOL'D! ... I see what you did there ... :AOK

3. todd richman

todd richman Senior Member

I need to try this. A warm but gritty transparent OD that would also fit in the "Pedal of the Week" spot on my board. I wonder if Mr. Fairfield could mount the 9 volt jack on the top edge of the pedal like my Crazy Horse which is currently in that spot on the board and has its 9 volt jack in that spot.

4. tatoi

tatoi Member

Try asking him. He was I nice guy to deal with:AOK

5. mcdonaldkd

mcdonaldkd Member