Familiar Rut - Lead Help

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by JoelWilliams24, Jan 21, 2012.

1. JoelWilliams24

JoelWilliams24 Member

Hey everyone, I'm 20 years old and I've been playing guitar for about 12 years now, and lately it seems like every time I pick up and play my guitar, by myself or with a band, I play very similar things as far as soloing. I just follow my familiar scales and modes. In addition I can often hum lead lines in my head that sound better than what I am playing, but have trouble translating that. I am wondering if anyone has any tips on how to move to the next level with my soloing, and spice it up and make it more exciting for myself and those who listen. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Seraphine

Seraphine Member

Practice playing to the soundtracks / incidental music on tv shows and films... these cover many moods and feelings etc... Also great practice for the ears and turning on a dime and actually having the ability to improvise with "others"

With a band.. try having the whole band improvise.. not with collapsing freeform.. but with cohesion that improvises within the form of some music and with the form as well... This might take time to get used to.. but it can be done... Grateful Dead is a prime example of that....

If you need learn MORE scales modes and arps.. do so.. link them all together in form and not just boxes.. as well take notice of all nuances you use... after all there's 10 ways from Sunday to play even one note...

Hope some of these ideas help.. I'm sure you'll get plenty of ideas soon enough!

3. Ethn Hayabusa

Ethn Hayabusa Member

The two most common things I see from people stuck in ruts, is that they lack a thorough understanding of intervals, and of rhythmic values.

I'm not saying you suffer those issues, but a large percentage of lessons with my "stuck in a rut" students start with those talking points.

4. anyone

anyone Member

Hey Joel,