Fans of Hiromi Uehara here @ TGP ?

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by BryanMatthews, Feb 27, 2009.

1. BryanMatthews

BryanMatthews Member

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-HHG5B4GZs&NR=1

Outrageously gifted Japanese jazz fusionist pianist , headstock on the double neck guitar being played looks like a Gustavsston (?) to me, perhaps that can be confirmed ?

What a talent to behold.:bow

2. zenguitarguy

zenguitarguy Member

I thought that was great! Reminded me of why I started playing. That kind passion and what an awesome tight band!! Wow! Some of the live clips at the Blue note are amazing.

3. TaronKeim

TaronKeim Member

Lots of love here for Hiromi. Spiral was one of my favorite releases the year it came out and still gets spun regularly. Her two albums with her "Sonicbloom" group are my favorite though.

The guitar is a double neck JG, Fretless 12-string Oud on top and standard 7-string on the bottom - it's David "Fuze" Fiuczynski signature model; absolutely killer guitar player and has definately added a lot to Hiromi's last two releases.

_TJK*

4. atquinn

atquinn Supporting Member

I love those vids. Does anyone know if the live performance is available on cd? Whenever I hear the live version first (as I did with these), the studio versions end up feeling a bit staid.

-Austin

5. heavypick

heavypick Member

Wow, I just came across a vid of this band the other day. It's cool to see someone posting about it (I thought TGPers only liked Robben Ford!). I think Fuze used a Vox tonelab kind of thing in the vid I saw. I loved that he used an effect that the gear snobs would snicker at, yet he plays way more interesting things than most of the boutique "gear-head" guys.

6. Bryan T

Bryan T guitar owner Silver Supporting Member