Fat Strat Sound...

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by ashoar12, Feb 1, 2008.

1. ashoar12

ashoar12 Member

Hello,

I am messing around with my strat trying to get a nice vintage sound with a huge fat bassy bottom end and I just can't quite seem to accomplish it. I have a MIM strat that I have replaced the stock ceramic pickups with some vintage style alnico II pickups. For some reason the stock pots are 500k instead of 250k, if I replaced them, would that help? I'm new to this so I need a little advice...

I'm looking for ideas along the lines of pickups, pots, caps, really anything I can do.

- Thanks

2. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member

It all makes some difference, but which amp are you using?

3. ashoar12

ashoar12 Member

I have a small fender frontman reverb... but I play a lot through a Fender Blues Deluxe that I don't own. The tube amp makes it a little better, but not enough for me...

4. dave s

dave s Member

Know what you mean ... some of the strats can sound sort of 'tinny' at times and not as full as we'd like. A couple of quick tweaks would be to roll BACK the tone control on the guitar, roll down the high-end on the amp a bit and hit the volume knob on the amp!

That should fatten up your tone a bit. Good luck.

dave

5. Tone_Terrific

Tone_Terrific Member

What other guitars have you tried?
    Borrow a Les Paul, an Epi will do, plug it in, go to a store if you have to.
    If THAT is what you think good tone is, unload the Strat 'cause it will fight you all the time if you want something else.
    Strats have a lot of charm and versatility but it's a struggle to make them sound good if your idea of good is different to the guitar's.
    It's not a lack of bottom, to me, rather the thinness of the top end that has to be dealt with. Some people seem to to love it, so YMMV.
    An amp with 2-12's doesn't hurt, either:)

6. ashoar12

ashoar12 Member