Feedback on Glenn DeLaune patches?

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by plawren53202, May 9, 2016.

1. plawren53202

plawren53202 Member

I just recently picked up a Pod HD500 and am wondering about the Glenn DeLaune patches available for purchase for it.

Long time user of the XT Live, so I am not new to using modeling, but I am not an expert by any means. So far after about 10 hours or so of use on the HD500 I am not hating it, but not falling in love yet. Having an easier time dialing in higher gain patches (like cranked Marshall tones) than cleaner tones--in particular I usually tend toward AC30 tones because I have played an AC30 live for many years.

I have never purchased patches in the past, but I am thinking it might be a way to kick start me on the HD500, as I was hoping to try using it live before too long. I have watched some DeLaune Youtube videos showcasing some of his patches, to my ears over Youtube and cheap computer speakers they sound decent. So, I would welcome hearing any opinions on them from anyone who has purchased them.

scott58 and ColonelForbin like this.
  2. Jhatem81

Jhatem81 Member

he is a very good player so his patches will sound awesome. They sound really good on youtube but patches seem to never sound as good when i download them(probably beceause i dont play as good as Duane). I downloaded some Lincoln Brewster patches once because they sounded good on youtube...and they sounded terrible at home(i also dont play like Lincoln lol)

Scrapperz likes this.
  3. ledzep618

ledzep618 Supporting Member

They're good patches, but I can't get them to sound the same as the videos - there may be some post-processing on the demons, I don't know. The volumes from clean to dirty are also not well normalized on some of the patches.

mojah likes this.
  4. mojah

mojah Member

I had them when I had the pod. Never used any of them... YMMV.. He likes to put a chorus on one side of the split as I remember..

5. maxnew40