Fender Champ 600

abcman

Hi all, I am a guitar newbie and I recently got myself a Squier CV 60s Strat and a Fender Champ 600 after reading those awesome reviews about the gear.
I got my gears all from the used market, the strat is awesome but I have a question on the champ 600.
It got a very low voloume output. I can barely hear the sound until I turn the volume up to around 5 and growmloud steadily up to 12 (i plug in the high input channel), is this normal? cause for other amps, I usually just turn the volume to around 2 and max 3 for quiet bedroom playing at night.
Does this mean I need to change the tube or what? this is my first time experience with a tube amp.
any advice to my case? thanks in advance!:beer

John Thigpen

Silver Supporting Member
One issue with the Champ 600 is the grill cloth...it's really thick and deadens the volume somewhat. Lot's of people replace it with aftermarket grill cloth...oxblood is a popular choice.

abcman

Thanks for the input John.
But the problem is i cant hear the guitar sound even the volume is turn to 3 and 4, does it mean there is something wrong in my amp?

Pax

Gold Supporting Member
No, that's not normal. I had one and it was audible plus some for bedroom playing at 3-4 on the volume dial. Not sure what the issue is, but you should be able to hear it.

guitguy28

I think you should try plugging into the "low" input. I think (correct me if I'm wrong) that the high input is for high-output guitars and the low input is for low-output guitars. Try it and see anyway.

The other thing is that the Champion 600 is a very low-powered amp. It's only 5 watts, and it has a low-powered speaker. It's meant to be that way so you can turn it up and get a classic overdriven tube sound at a very reasonable volume level.

If the Champ 600 doesn't have enough power for you, you may want to consider another one of Fender's amps like the Blues Junior, if you want to stay with a Fender amp.

abcman