Fender Deluxe 85 Repair - No Sound

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by leray1, Jan 1, 2018.

1. leray1

leray1 Member

I was given a Fender Deluxe 85 and it powers up, but I get no sound. When I tap on the top it makes noise. So I took out the board and see some obvious issues (see pics). Anything else I should be worried about? By the way, this is my first attempt at repairing a board.

[​IMG]20180101_120725_resized by leray1, on Flickr

[​IMG]20180101_120756_resized by leray1, on Flickr

2. Kyle B

Kyle B Supporting Member

The resistor might actually be OK i.e. it might still work, just crumbled a little due to time & heat (replace it anyhow of course)

I would check that the output transistors are good before putting power on it after replacing the cap.

I'd also replace ANY electrolytic cap (like the one that exploded) if it shows any sign of leaking or bulging.

Note EL caps (like the one that exploded) are POLARIZED. Meaning you have to get the +/- correct when you put a new one in. Fail to do that, and you'll see more wax paper strewn about your board (because they'll likely also explode...)

3. leray1

leray1 Member

Thanks! Where's a good place to get replacements?

4. xtian

xtian Member

Mouser.com or Newark.com is good for radial caps and 5w power resistors.

leray1 likes this.
  5. VaughnC

VaughnC Supporting Member