Fender Deluxe Reverb .. Good Rock - Blues Amp ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by BobboVisMe, Oct 4, 2006.

1. BobboVisMe

BobboVisMe Member

Hey All ..

Been thinking about picking up either an older or reissue Deluxe reverb amp and was just wondering What the Forum thought of them as a gigging rock and blues amp .. Can they compete with the drummer ?? Are the reissue any good and so on ??

2. Tycho

Tycho Member

I've been using a DRRI as my main (occasional) gigging amp for the past three or four years. I'm by no means an expert on amp tone, but I've found that the DRRI is wonderful with regular single-coils and lipstick tube pickups, but a bit more finicky with HBs and P-90s. A dealer I respect a lot told me he doesn't consider them to be the best amp for Les Paul players.

They can definitely compete with drummers, though. I have rarely turned mine past 6 on a gig. (Although I should note that they don't get a lot louder past 6 anyway.)

As I said, though, I'm far from an expert. I'll be interested to hear what others here say.

3. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    I've used a DR for rock gigs for 10 years. I sometimes use a Les Paul. Nothing wrong with a DR as long as you don't crank it past 7 which is enough to scorch the ears of people (and soundmen) directly in it's path.

4. AJ Love

AJ Love Senior Member

the older DR's can be generally great. I'm not a fan of the DRRI's however (big bias alert) similar to FMIC guitars if you search for 'em 1 out of every 20 or so DRRI's can be very good amps...

5. cpsdawg

cpsdawg Member

probably the most used amp on the planet. get one. you'll love it.

6. thesedaze

thesedaze Member

Trey Anastasio seems to make them work pretty well.

7. bluesmain

bluesmain Member

Good working musicians's amp!

8. Mixoso

Mixoso Silver Supporting Member