Fender experts: Real or fake?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by michael30, May 3, 2008.

1. michael30

michael30 Gold Supporting Member

I bought this neck on ebay a few years ago. As I've learned more about different Fender models I'm starting to suspect that this might be counterfit.
    This neck has never been drilled for Klusons which AFAIK should be the correct tuners on a California Series neck.

It's a good quality neck, nothing like the cheap chinese knock-offs that I've encountered. The finish and decal are obviously factory applied.

What I'd like to know is: Is this a real Fender? If it's not, then why would someone go to the trouble of making a copy of this quality and then not get the details right?

What do you think?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. biggreen

biggreen Member

I'm far from an expert, but the truss rod hole doesn't look right to me, shouldn't it be rosewood lined for all non bullet style trusses? And isn't it missing the little metal cover plate.

[​IMG]

3. David Collins

David Collins Member

Yes, it's a plain old 98 Fender California Series neck, with a bunch of holes drilled in it.

Estimate value as it is - $30-$50

Estimated value if it were a fake - $30-$50

Estimated value as vintage in 50 years - $30-$50 (after inflation adjustments).

Which is exactly why no one would go through the trouble of making a fake one.

4. 12345678

12345678 Senior Member

I totally agree. From your pictures, it looks to be original. As David said, why would anyone go through all that trouble to make a forgery that they're gonna make $30 on???

5. fazendeiro

fazendeiro Member

Probably the same guys who make counterfeit pennies.

6. biggreen

biggreen Member

True, however I have actually seen counterfeit epiphones, like the cheapest sg models and thought WTF? And back in 98 it would have been worth more than 30-50 I imagine.

7. David Collins

David Collins Member